Monday, August 8, 2016

Rae Uses the E-Fund Cause Tires

Quick post to try and get me back into the swing of things... gotta go to work, though.

You already know from my previous posts that our income has risen somewhat. Not significantly, just a few hundred dollars a month. So I've been putting the excess into our emergency fund. It grew from $1200 up to $1700! I was so proud.

Aaaaand it is back down to $1200 again. Because Corey got a nail in his tire at a point where it was not patch-able, and one of my tires basically wore out completely, so I needed two new ones. But hey... that's what an emergency fund is for, right?

/sigh

On the plus side, we have:

  • Received $180 cash back from getting the bonus on Chase Freedom Unlimited.
  • Qualified for Chase Sapphire, paid off the old card, and started working on the bonus there. It's a higher minimum spend - $4000 over 3 months - but I can actually pay my rent with a credit card. Not something I would normally do since it tacks on a surcharge, but worth it in context. Hitting that minimum will net us approx. $600 in travel play money, and I want to fly my bff in to visit early next year.
  • Claimed some unclaimed property in Florida - I had an electric bill deposit that was never sent to me, so I got $89 by filling out some forms and being patient.
  • We renewed WoW for the new expansion. The initial renewal and pair of expansion packs cost a bit, but as to the monthly fee - you can pay your monthly bill with in-game gold. Already saved $30 so far by playing enough, which is a terrible hourly rate if you think about it, but considering that I don't feel like it's "work" I am fine with it.

So things are going okay. We are working this month to severely deflate our eating out, and get it back down to the budgeted amount. I also finally bought new bras and jeans since the old ones were 100% worn out beyond my skill to fix. I got the cheap stuff, too, cause I'd rather spend my money on other things. Like food.

Oh yeah, and I'm 33 now. Yay for birthdays or whatever. /grumbles at the unassailable passage of time

Also, I'm late for work, haha. Bye!